There are no resources to display

From the elocution training of the past to today's practical communication and performance asssessments, LAMDA's examinations have provided each and every learner with the skills and confidence to succeed in life.

LAMDA is one of the UK’s oldest and most respected awarding bodies. We have been offering practical examinations in communication and performance subjects for over 130 years. In this time, our qualifications have helped hundreds of thousands of candidates of all ages and abilities to develop lifelong skills.

LAMDA exams are about achievement – recognising and rewarding the endeavours of each individual – but they are also about empowerment. Our ultimate aim is to provide all people with the opportunity to develop the life skills they need to be a success: attributes such as self-confidence and the ability to communicate clearly and present ideas.

At the heart of LAMDA examinations is the recognition that our qualifications are for everyone. Across the globe, our examinations unite learners of all ages, abilities, backgrounds and cultures in enthusiasm for the English language and a desire to develop skills for life.


At Oswestry School we offer training in all areas of the LAMDA syllabus to help those pupils who want to pursue a career in Acting, right down to interview and presentation skills for the university and job seeker interviews.

Communication Examinations

LAMDA's communication examinations provide the opportunity to develop a clear speaking voice, positive body language and self confidence by exploring different uses of spoken English.

Performance Examinations

LAMDA's performance examinations use drama to develop self-confidence, physical presence and a strong speaking voice.

LAMDA Qualifications and UCAS

The University and Colleges Admissions Service (UCAS) is the organisation responsible for managing applications to Higher Education courses in the UK. Its aim is to help Learners make informed choices that are right for them – guiding them, as well as their parents and advisers, through the higher education application process. Applications through UCAS are conducted using the UCAS Tariff. This is a means of allocating points to compare post-16 Qualifications used for entry to Higher Education.

UCAS have introduced a new Tariff which came into effect from September 2017. The new Tariff supports Learners applying to Higher Education, to start university or college. LAMDA’s Level 3 recognised Qualifications are included in the new UCAS Tariff. The table below shows the UCAS points assigned by grade and attainment level (Pass, Merit or Distinction).

On the new Tariff smaller Qualifications in a small size band will now have a lower Tariff point score. This means that whilst LAMDA’s Level 3 recognised Qualifications are included in the new Tariff, there are a smaller number of points allocated to these Qualifications. This change is not specific to LAMDA and does not reflect any changes to the content, rigour or quality of our Qualifications. This change also affects other speech and drama awarding organisations offering comparable Qualifications in the performing arts sector.

The following Examinations are available for UCAS Points, for Grade 6, 7 and 8 only.

  • Performance
    • Acting
    • Devising Drama
    • Mime​
  • Communication
    • Speaking Verse and Prose
    • Reading for Performance
    • Speaking in Public
  • Musical Theatre
  • Shakespeare Level 3
  • PCertLAM
  Grade 6 Grade 7 Grade 8 Shakespeare PCertLAM
Distinction 12 points 16 points 30 points 12 points 24 points
Merit 10 points 14 points 27 points 8 points 16 points
Pass 8 points 12 points 24 points 4 points 8 points